Inspire : Watch a Movie

Movies are the ultimate form of visual storytelling. Unlike photographs which capture a moment in life, movies capture life in motion. But the best thing about a movie, is the feeling you get after watching one.

I remember the time I watched Christopher Nolan’s Interstellar. The story and the visuals were so engaging, they almost transported me to space. I almost fell off the edge of my seat during the scene where Matthew McConaughey falls into a blackhole.  And no one can forget the utter longing he had as a father, to meet his daughter and keep his promise to her.

After the movie was done, I felt like I myself had been on an interstellar journey and now had returned to the Earth. As I walked out the door of the theatre, I realised how small our problems are. And that we spend entire lifetimes bickering over what we can’t have instead of enjoying what we do have.

Watching the movie, my perspective had shifted light years. I was looking at my life from a distance. And this made me feel that my problems were just tiny specs in this gigantic universe. For about a week, I kept feeling this way. But any other movie with a happy ending has the same effect on you – it uplifts your spirits. It inspires you and gives you perspective.

So to put it in a few words, watching a movie can fill you with inspiration – unless you chose a very crappy movie. Be a bit logical in choosing the movies you watch for inspiration – don’t expect to get inspired after watching a horror flick. ( unless jumpscares are your thing – in which case, whatever floats your boat 😉 )

One thought on “Inspire : Watch a Movie

  1. I blog often and I really appreciate your content. This great
    article has truly peaked my interest. I will book mark your
    site and keep checking for new details about once per week.
    I opted in for your RSS feed too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

