The World Where I Must Be

 

“Get me out of here!”

I scream, none heard.

I was born trapped,

In a shell, it really hurts.

 

There’s one way out,

Through a terribly tiny window,

Too tiny to crawl out,

Without breaking my bones.

 

So I push and shove,

See if the walls can break,

They stretch but don’t budge,

May be it is too late.

 

A while later, the struggle ends,

I’m exhausted and spent.

This is my doomed fate,

Trapped in a shell until the end.

 

But then a light shines through,

The window glows like a bulb,

Maybe there’s a world outside,

A world where I must be.

 

The window isn’t tiny anymore,

Not tiny enough to hold me,

I need to see the outside,

The world where I must be.

 

So I try and push through,

My bones crackle under pain,

Somehow I keep urging forward,

Telling myself to be brave.

 

There comes a point,

There’s no more space,

My body hurts like hell,

I’m trapped all over again.

 

May be I’m not meant to,

Be where I must be,

I’m not meant to see,

The world that I must see.

 

And yet the light keeps shining,

It never even slightly dims,

It is calling me, to the outside,

To the world of my whims.

 

Suddenly a rage bursts through me,

Now I don’t have a choice,

Either I die trying to get out,

Or perchance I live a free life.

 

My arms grow stronger at the thought,

A new energy flows through me,

I push through with all my might,

The window stretches around me.

 

In a last breath, I escape the shell,

My arms spread out into wings,

I fly out, like I was meant to,

Into the world, the world of my dreams.

2 thoughts on “The World Where I Must Be

Leave a Reply

